Going green!

I have toyed with going green in terms of our household cleaning products. I have tried a few things, mainly vinegar and water as a surface and floor cleaner, and I have generally been happy with the outcome. However, I am still a bit sceptical about what really works, and how to get the best results with what products. My main cleaning bane is the shower…I can never seem to get the shower door clean with anything other than a chlorine bleach solution. It’s not my ideal choice, and the smell is rather toxic (I feel that I need to leave the house for hours after using it just so that I don’t feel like I am living at an indoor pool). I have found a few blogs in the last 6 months or so that have helped me to refocus some energy on going green – from household cleaning to hair care products, Madeleine at Sweet Madeleine and Sash at inked in colour have been an inspiration.

What are you tips for sustainable household cleaning products? I’d love to hear them!

4 thoughts on “Going green!

  1. Janette

    We only use Nature Direct for household cleaning – makes a world of difference to our skin and it smells awesome! I tried soap nuts in the washing but I like the smell of chemical washing detergent so stopped using them.

    Reply
  2. sweetmadeleine

    OK for your shower doors here’s what you do. Heat some white vinegar in the microwave for about 30-60 seconds. Use a funnel to pour it carefully into a spray bottle with a fine mist setting, and spray it all over your glass shower doors. The goal is to do it lightly enough that it covers but doesn’t drip off. Leave it on for 15-20 mins and then wipe off with a clean cloth or non-abrasive pad. Depending on how bad the doors are you may have to do it once or twice, but it works amazingly!
    Thanks for the link love! 🙂

    Reply
    1. wintermum Post author

      Thanks for the tip!!! I’ll definitely give it a go 🙂 In the meantime I used normal window spray (because I seem to have bottles of it in my cleaning cupboard – what the?!) and it also worked a treat!!! May as well use up all the stuff I’ve spent money on but when that’s all gone I’m going with your tip! Cheers!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: On wanting not needing | wintermum

Leave a Reply

